Who has qualified for the World Cup 2022? Canada qualify for first time in 36 years, England and Argentina latest

THE World Cup is starting to take shape as more and more qualifiers become known.

And overnight, Canada rewrote history with a 4-0 win over Jamaica.

Canada have qualified for their first World Cup in 36 yearsCredit: AP

Luis Suarez and Uruguay have qualified for their fourth straight World Cup

Luis Suarez and Uruguay have qualified for their fourth straight World CupCredit: Getty

That result meant the Canadians reached their first tournament since 1986.

But there will be no room for Italy who were stunned at home by North Macedonia.

Who has qualified for the World Cup 2022?

Three teams have so far qualified for the World Cup 2022.

  • Qatar (as hosts/ had taken part in UEFA Group A)
  • Germany (UEFA Group J winners)
  • Denmark (UEFA Group F winners)
  • Brazil (CONMEBOL top four)
  • Serbia (UEFA Group A winners)
  • Spain (UEFA Group B winners)
  • France (UEFA Group D winners)
  • Belgium (UEFA Group E winners)
  • Netherlands (UEFA Group G winners
  • Croatia (UEFA Group H winners)
  • Switzerland (UEFA Group C winners)
  • England (UEFA Group I winners)
  • Argentina (CONMEBOL top four)
  • Iran (AFC Group A top two)
  • South Korea (AFC Group A top two)
  • Japan (AFC Group B top two)
  • Saudi Arabia (AFC Group B top two)
  • Ecuador (CONMEBOL top four)
  • Uruguay (CONMEBOL top four)
  • Canada (CONCACAF top three)

How do the play-offs work?

Joining the 10 second-placed teams in the play-offs are the two highest-ranked teams from the Nations League who have not already qualified or finished in a runners-up spot.

And the play-offs for this World Cup are tougher than ever before.

Rather than the traditional two-legged format, the 2022 World Cup campaign sees the 12 teams put into three paths of four teams, with each path consisting of two one-legged semi-finals and a final.

There will also be inter-confederation play-offs which will see the the best placed team not to have qualified from Asia take on the fifth placed team from South America, and the fourth placed team from North American face the top team from Oceania.

The unprecedented Qatar World Cup takes place from November 21 to December 18, 2022.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Related Posts